Thrity-Four National Swimmers And Five Officials To Travel To St. Lucia This Week, For OECS Swimming Competitions

PR – A contingent of thirty -four national swimmers and five officials travel to St. Lucia this week to compete in the 30th OECS Swimming Championships. member team. The annual invitational event was suspended in 2020 and 2021 due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. This year, it is hosted by the St. Lucia Aquatic Federation (SLAF).

Grenada, the reigning champion of the OECS competitions for five consecutive years, 2015 to 2019, is determined to maintain its title. The athletes and coaches have been engaged in more rigorous training in preparation for the competitions.

Athletes selected for the team come from varying age groups and have been mainly selected based on points gained at the recently held OECS trials Swim meet hosted by the Grenfin Swim club. 

Each athlete is expected to compete in several various events; among them the 50m, 100m, 200m in the Freestyle, Backstroke, Butterfly, and Breast strokes.

Coaches Gerson Escobar and Damique Walters will be the coaches accompanying the team, along with local Federation Representative, Andrew Hopkin, and Chaperons Ruth Collymore and Nigel Gresham.

 The following is a list of team members by age group:

8 & Under 8 & Under
Glenis Bain Ethan Gunpot
Faith Watson Mateo Thomas
Konna-Marie Munroe Jonathan La Barrie
9 to 10  9 to 10
Eliza-Rose Benjamin Ethan Chu-Fook
Soriya Stewart Ramone Stewart
Nataly Escobar  Rowan Brow
Lilly Alban James
11 to 12 11 to 12
Zeia Ollivierre Jaaziel Francis
Maggie Watson Jacob Collymore
Kristen Gresham Michael Robertson
13-14 13-14
Sara Dowden Elliot Fletcher
Tilly Collymore Mallon Paterson
Shelby Neckles Tevin Duncan
15-17 15-17
Aniaka Charles Zackary Gresham
Kimberly Ince Nathan Fletcher
Gabrielle Hyson
18 & Over 18 & Over
Kaiya Ramdhanny Delron Felix
Sydney Steele Jenebi Beniot

GASA looks forward to keen competitions from the athletes and wishes the team a safe journey and successful event.