Barbados Reduces Number Of Caribbean Countries In Travel Bubble

(LOOP NEWS CARIBBEAN) – The number of Caribbean countries in Barbados’ regional travel bubble has been reduced.

Barbados’  updated travel protocols shows that the bubble has been whittled to five countries: Grenada, St Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and the Grenadines, and Dominica.

The bubble formerly included Trinidad and Tobago, Antigua and Barbuda, Curacao, Aruba, Anguilla, Bahamas, Guyana, Belize,Turks and Caicos. Bermuda, Bonaire, British Virgin Islands, Jamaica,Saint Barthélemy, St Martin and Montserrat.

The update comes on the heels of the announcement by the Ministry of Health that the island had recorded 24 new cases of COVID-19 over the weekend.

The updated protocols identify risk categories for selected countries, updated requirements for entry, protocols for arrival for all risk levels, available testing options, and procedures for visitors upon arrival. The updated protocols come into effect on August 5.

A traveller’s risk category will be determined by the highest risk level associated with any country that they have travelled to or transited to 21 days prior to arriving on the island.

Risk categories are high, medium, low and counties within the bubble.

For those entering Barbados, an online immigration form must be completed 24 hours prior to arriving. PCR tests are required from accredited facilities 72 hours before arrival.

Those from the bubble countires do not require any PCR tests before or on arrival to Barbados once they did not transit or travel to a high-risk country 21 days prior to arrival.

Travellers from within the bubble countries will have to undergo a health screen and are required to wear a mask.

If any traveller from a bubble is deemed to have had close contact with a COVID-19 person, they will have to be quarantined.